Computers and Technology > Hardware

Computer not POSTing

(1/5) > >>

whores:

I logged in to the server last evening and my machine got "locked out". by that I mean the video and audio dies off and you get a blank screen but the computer would stay powered on. It happens very frequently when I game, but one hard reboot would normally start the computer back. But this time the video and audio does not come back again. It does not show even the compaq splash screen. some searching on the net seems to point to my mother board being fried. any ideas?

guit_ar_tist:
Never got this problem. Maybe contact your mobo company?

jwpizzy:
It might be overheating, try cleaning the insides out with canned air. How old is the computer?

Ban Em All:
ok, we are gonna need some computer specs, there could be many problems here, trust me, i do this for a living, one, the mobo can be bad, two, overheating like pizzy said, try getting the dust out, three, are you running SLI and a X-FI sound card, they can sometimes have problems with each other. what could also be happening is that the power supply is either not strong enough anymore

whores:

--- Quote from: [KEA] guit_ar_tist [GA] on August 07, 2008, 11:02:19 PM ---Never got this problem. Maybe contact your mobo company?

--- End quote ---

its very old. pretty sure there is no warranty.

--- Quote from: jwpizzy on August 07, 2008, 11:16:51 PM ---It might be overheating, try cleaning the insides out with canned air. How old is the computer?

--- End quote ---